Any questions ?
Contact us:
+33 9 65 25 59 49

Grape Varieties

vigne_armagnac_1.jpg

The folle blanche or “piquepoult”, as it is called in Gascony is the Armagnac grape variety. Killed-off by phylloxera in 1893, it represents, today, scarcely 1 % of the total crop in the Appellation area. With round tightly packed grapes, Folle Blanche despite its extreme sensitivity to rot, remains the king of grapes for Armagnac, giving Spirits that have great subtlety.

The ugni-blanc or Saint-Emilion vine has large thick leaves with an ogival outline. The bunches are loosely packed with round grapes that become amber-yellow, when ripe. This variety is the latest to ripen and thrives in soil with an acid ph. The wines produce ample and well-balanced spirits.

The colombard is the most, fruity variety. The bunches have oblong grapes and merit early picking, before they are ripe, since this produces a fresh and lively spirit, which once aged will mellow into a full-bodied and powerful Armagnac.

The baco 22A, a hybrid wine grape, produced from crossing the American Noah grape and the Folle Blanche. It is the latest arrival in grape varieties in Armagnac. The leaves a triangular shaped with a small jagged outline. The grapes are round and not too tightly packed, while the colour is a white-gold. It can be recognised by the dominant fruitiness
of prunes, when grown in sandy or “boulbènes” soils.

The phantom grape varieties, Clairette de Gascogne, Meslier Saint-François, remain on only a few hectares today. Among the most interesting of these, is the Plant de Graisse, which produces magnificent spirits with lots of fat and which remain long in the mouth.


grappe.jpg --7 Kb

facebook share
twitter share
Share on Google+
linkedin share

Une question ?
Contactez nous:
+33 9 65 25 59 49

Les cépages

vigne_armagnac_1.jpg


La folle blanche en gascon “piquepoult”, est le cépage historique de l’Armagnac. Anéanti par le phylloxéra en 1893, il ne représente aujourd’hui qu’à peine 1% de l’encépagement global de l’Appellation. Cépage au grain rond et serré, la Folle Blanche est malgré son extrème sensibilité à la pourriture, le cépage roi de l’Armagnac, donnant des Eaux de vie d’une grande finesse.

L’ugni-blanc ou saint-émilion a de grandes feuilles épaisses à la dentelure ogivale. Ses grappes aérées aux grains ronds prennent un ton jaune ambré à maturité. Ce Cépage est le plus tardif de tous et s’épanouit sur des sols au ph acide. Ses vins offrent des Eaux de Vie amples et bien équilibrées.

Le colombard est le cépage le plus fruité. Ses grappes ont le grain oblong et méritent d’être ramassées avant maturité pour donner des Eaux de Vie qui offrent fraîcheur et vivacité et qui en vieillissant se transforment en Armagnacs charpentés et puissants.

Le baco 22A, hybride vinifère, demi-sang de Noah américain et de folle blanche, ce cépage est le dernier venu en Armagnac. Ces feuilles sont triangulaires à petite dentelure. Son grain rond est peu serré et de couleur blanc-doré. Il est connu pour ses dominantes fruitées de pruneau lorsqu’il est cultivé dans les sables et les boulbènes.

Les cépages-fantômes, Clairette de Gascogne, Meslier Saint-François, dont il ne reste que quelques hectares, et dont le plus intéressant est sans conteste le Plant de Graisse, qui offre des Eaux de Vie magnifiques avec beaucoup de gras et de longueur en bouche.

grappe.jpg --7 Kb

facebook share
twitter share
Share on Google+
linkedin share